The High Court

The High Court is based principally at the Royal Courts of Justice in London. The High Court is divided into three divisions: The Queen’s Bench Division, consisting primarily of actions in contract or tort; Chancery Division which is used for disputes arising over land, trusts, contentious and inheritance matters; Family division where family disputes like defended divorces and adoption cases are resolved.

There are also Business and Property Courts which hear specialist business and other civil disputes. These include the Commercial Court and the Technology and Construction Court.

The High Court’s divisions reflect the fact that it is capable of dealing with more complex and nuanced work than the County Courts. There are specific practice guides which deal with procedures in each Court. If you launch a case in one of these specialist divisions, then it is useful to know the specific requirements for each division. These could include different approaches to bundles, where documents should be served and the procedure at specific hearings.